2 Minute Devotional, When God Asks Something – October 7th

Proverbs 17:3,

The crucible for silver and the furnace for gold, but Yahweh tests the heart.

One thing I’ve really learned lately is how important processes are to God in our daily redemption. He likes to test our hearts. So, sometimes when God puts us through something difficult, or new, or something that stretches our abilities, he’s testing our hearts. He wants to see how we will respond. He wants to see how our hearts react under different conditions.

Why?

What is our end destiny? What is the consummation of our hearts in this life as a follower of Jesus? It’s our marriage to the Son as his bride, it’s us coming of age to inherit our Father’s Kingdom, it’s us being in Jesus’ presence for ever, worshiping him ceaselessly in every facet of life, and us living together in the closest and most intimate of families as friends and brothers and sisters in our Father’s house.  It’s everything your lovely heart has secretly and openly desired that God made for you to live in, getting every love you’ve ever been made to experience, it’s being fully alive in a wondrous and adventurous world with our Beloved Jesus by our side, or rather us by his side. In a word: its heaven.

We are very much like amnesiacs, who have imprinted deep upon us a life of glory, but cannot recall what it is like or how to get back to where we belong except for small scents on a summer breeze that recalls our lost memory.

This is the 30,000 foot view. Seems lofty? Seems other worldly? Maybe not entirely pragmatic? I disagree. Once we see ourselves for who we are, glorious beings who are each the holy of holies where the Spirit of the Living God himself chooses to lovingly indwell in, who have awoken in a world caught in the collision of the Kingdom of God and the Kingdom of Satan, we can put our daily struggles into perspective. We realize that Jesus is running processes on us in the midst of this war, ones that help reinstate us to what he created us to be, so that when we do return fully to the Kingdom, fully glorified and restored, we can be everything he created us to be. The processes are necessary. Then we can look at some of our troubles in this world and say, ‘It’s ok. God is using this to refine me, make me more like his Son.’

Jeremiah 29:11,

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares Yahweh, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

We should take on his plans for us and go with him on the journey. Sometimes that is difficult, sometimes it is a joy. But whatever his plan is, we should push into it with all of our will.

Today, we walk into another day of some of the processes God is using to restore us, to redeem us. It’s us working out our salvation. Philippians 2:12,

Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed–not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence-continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling…

This is where wisdom comes in. When we move our posture of what our conversation to our Lord is, from asking and granting requests, to what is your will and how can I go along with it to ensure you succeed in your plan for me? Because his plan for each of us, is to prosper us. Because he’s seeking a bride to marry forever, he’s seeking heirs to take his kingdom and inherit with his Son, he’s seeking us to bear his image for eternity. That’s a lot! That’s what you are in Christ Jesus 🙂 I love that.

I hope each of you have an AMAZING Friday!! YAY FRIDAY!! And a wonderful weekend! I’m going to be out for Saturday at least, maybe Sunday. I hope your weeks have been blessed and know that you are SO LOVED!! Never forget it 😉

Joel

6 thoughts on “2 Minute Devotional, When God Asks Something – October 7th

  1. I needed this exactly! Answer to prayer.
    Tonight we had a performance at retirement home and I opened up the show with me playing and singing. I lost my focus in the music and really goofed. Then my students began messing up. I thought I set them up to tumble.
    Anyway I felt like a complete and utter failure. Started beating myself up and then I started shifting my focus. I prayed, Lord what are you trying to teach me through this struggle, affliction, whatever you call it? Why do I struggle with confidence and anxiety? Help me see what you want me to learn so I can be refined. What is in my heart?
    You have really set this up for me, so I can do some heart work and let the Holy Spirit work on me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no Johanna! I’m sorry that happened! I know I don’t know you in real life, but I bet you have a beautiful singing voice! I can definitely see how much you love teaching and singing! I’m so sorry that happened. I LOVE your perspective though and the questions you were asking God through it! Wow, so crazy that this happened tonight and I wrote this. Thank you so much for sharing that, wow, can’t believe it. There aren’t coincidences when God is moving in his people.

      I hope you have a good night!! And a great Friday!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great insight Joel and thanks for sharing this. I also feel that when we go through these struggles, afflictions or whatever they may be, not only are we being fined tuned in theses areas, I feel we are being humbled because we all know that we can’t go 1 second without our Lord and I feel that sometimes He nudges us and says “I know this is hard, lean on Me, trust Me and let me take care of you”. Our human nature likes to do things by without help but we are nothing without Him. Another thought that comes to mind is building our testimony through these trials or struggles so that others can see how divine and wonderful Jesus is because at the end of the day HE is the only thing that matters

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amen! Yes thank you for adding that because that is definitely one of the other pieces, humility and God destroying our pride! Very critical, we need to rely upon him alone for all things and not be puffed up with ourselves. Love it!! He is the only thing that matters!! Amen!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

