2 Minute Devotional, Spiritually Unleashed – October 5th

Psalm 107:14,

He brought them out of darkness and the shadow of death and tore apart their chains.

Do you know the feeling of when you are just unbounded in your spirit? When you are at the right place, right time, and you are on fire with God? It’s like God has just smashed the petal to the floor and all of a sudden it’s like your soul is in a Lambo  and God is the driver. You get that rush and it’s like, this is what I was meant to do right now. It’s the Hillsong Young & Feel This Is Living Now feeling.

Many get that feeling during a that certain worship song, or church camp, or serving, or leading a group…it’s such a wonderful feeling. I started serving in our church’s kids ministry a couple months ago. Wow, it takes me from 0 to 60 in 2 seconds flat when I walk into church and see my 4th and 5th grade small group boys and I’m ready to hang out with them and serve them and teach them God’s love. Like I know this is right where God wants me and he’s using me to help mold these kids into the people of God that he is growing them up to be. It’s a rush. I get the same feeling going to lead my small group and leading others deeper into the Word of God. I love it.

God wants us to be alive. But sometimes it’s not that easy.

I can’t overemphasize the difficulties that typically have to be overcome to get us to the right place where we can start giving of ourselves and loving others. It is a very difficult road for some. It requires everything we have to face our own sin and claim victory in Christ, battles being strewn out across the years. It’s tough! Resentment, anger, depression, sadness, feelings of insecurity, hate…woundings. Deep wounding of the heart. But Jesus greatly desires to see restoration in his people. I struggled with loneliness and depression for years, fear of engaging others in relationship, and pride issues. Those barriers, those chains, had to be broken before I could give myself completely to others as Jesus asks of us, to love others as we love ourselves. So often in the wounding we take in our heart through this world and sin, we have a reactionary response, one of self-preservation, to love ourselves more than we love others. We rationalize the fear – I did. And then, we can even take it up a notch, and look down upon those we secretly want to be with calling them hypocritical and not on our level – I did that too. When I was young, I was the typical introvert Christian who thought I knew everything and kinda thought others were just watered down Christians – awful, I know right? I especially looked down on those that I secretly really wanted to be friends with. Ouch. Yeah I know…well a decade later and God has done miracles. I can now truthfully say, I don’t live that life any more. My chains have been broken. He has led me out of the darkness and into the light to share the love he has inside me through the indwelling of his Spirit.

Our Father wants you to live free

The work of restoration of you, of your heart, is a long journey. It requires courage, courage to admit how we really feel, what we really want, and we really want to love others and why we don’t want to do it. But God is an infinite God. And by that I mean he is unbounded. And you are a creation that he has made to bear his image. You are to be unbound as well. There are not to be any chains or barriers in your life to living life as he designed you to live it. It took his own Son dying on a cross for all of our mistakes, all of our sins to be able to make us into the creation he intended us to be. The restoration process is a daily one. We are not all the way complete, but I want you to dream of what you want to do. Of how you feel like you want to love others, how you can serve them, how you can love others as you love yourself. Because that is the second great commandment.

What is it for you? Where do you come alive and feel like you are accelerating past 200 mph and feel on fire with the wind all around you, fully alive in God’s Spirit? Do you love serving? Singing? Kids? Families? Is it going out on the street and setting up a makeshift soup kitchen for the homeless? Is it listening to God’s whisper and seeing that one person he wants you to go love on, a total stranger in a public place, because they need his love badly and don’t know him? What makes you come alive? And what are the hindrances, the chains holding you back?

I hope you all have a wonderful day! And I hope you living today fully alive in Christ. It’s the best life in the world. There is nothing better than being alive in him, being in his embrace and letting him use you for his glorious and wonderful purposes in this world. God bless you my friends šŸ™‚

Joel

PS that’s a Hurcan in the post image…my favorite is the Aventador (v12 and all those goodies that come with a Lambo), but a Hurcan will do just fine also.

PSS Just to clarify, no, I could never justify ever getting a Lambo for myself this side of heaven, even if I had the money, which I never ever will. Like maybe if world poverty was eradicated and Jesus himself plopped one down in front of my house for free, ok…but barring that, it’s not happening šŸ˜‰ Like ever.

PSSS Lambos are still my favorite car šŸ˜‰

8 thoughts on “2 Minute Devotional, Spiritually Unleashed – October 5th

  1. I have things that still hold me down. Feeling the need to prove myself in my career and yet I love teaching music, it gives me great joy! I am not exactly free though. It causes me great anxiety. I want to be free from that. I ask for your prayers. I am in performance season and this really stirs up a lot of anxiety. I feel like I am always needing approval from my students and parents that I am doing a satisfactory job. And I don’t want it to be about me. It’s not about me. Pride.
    Oh pride and ego. Uggggghhhh! I hate it.
    Unbound! Yes Lord please.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are absolutely in my prayers right now!! I’m sorry you’re struggling with this! Let me pray over you here,

      Jesus, I pray over Johanna, your daughter and ask that your Spirit will just provide an endless produce of peace for her. Peace and rest in this performance season. She loves teaching music, it’s one of the ways you have made her to image your glory, and I just ask that she will have your peace as she goes through her teaching day during this season. I pray Colossians 3:15 over her in your Name, “Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace.” I pray you will break any bonds and chains to anxiety in this season. I pray you will endow her with extra confidence in both you and the gifts you have given her to teach and sing. I pray that her heart will easily rest in your approval, regardless of how parents and students feel. But I also pray for success for her too. I pray a story for her in this season that she will look back on and just smile in her heart on the good things you did during this time in her life. It’s all about you Jesus, not us, never us, it’s you. Take away our pride and ego and give us more of you!! Let our cups overflow with you Jesus!! In your name i pray, amen

      Liked by 2 people

    1. You are very welcome!! Keep me updated on how it goes and I will definitely keep praying šŸ™‚ so glad we crossed blogs too haha!! šŸ™‚ definitely a God thing there. Hope you have a great evening!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

