2 Minute Devotional, Choices – September 30th

โ€‹I am writing this from the wee hours of the morning. Sophie, our 2 1/2 month old, finished nursing at midnight, but has the sniffles. So I am snuggling my little princess as she drifts off to sleep at 1am.

Choices. So much of our lives is based around what we choose. Do I eat the whole pizza or stop at a slice? Do I work out today or wait until tomorrow? Do I respond to that text now or do it a little later? I have been in a running battle with sleep lately. My wife stays home with the kids, so once they are asleep, it’s mommy time for her. I’ll get to join in and we end up watching a show together. We’ve been watching the Great British Baking Show. We got to the semifinal episode and it was a little after 10pm. I knew at this junction, I could either say, “Let’s call it and get to bed early.” My body needed extra sleep, so that was the right choice. Or, doing what i really wanted to do, “Hey babe, we gotta finish this show up! It’s  the finals!” And surprise, we watched it. And I lost that battle for more sleep. Annnndd I don’t have a leg to stand on in the morning when I’m a zombie because I chose it!

This is mimicking a very deep reality and process that is ongoing in the world. God is very process oriented when it comes to our hearts. Eg the garden of Eden. It’s seriously like a good grad school level psychology experiment. Let’s take two naked people, put them in paradise, say you can do and eat whatever you want except for this one tree. And then let’s see what choices they make when we give them our trust that they won’t eat the forbidden fruit. 

Is it any wonder that God harps on faith so much? Seriously. What happened in the garden? Broken trust. Trust issues. We as a species have major trust issues with our Creator. Why doesn’t God just come down, descend upon New York City in all his glory, leaving no doubt he alone is God? Why is he so meticulous on his anonymity in the physical world? Why is an omnipotent God’s voice a whisper? (eg Elijah) it’s trust building, it’s faith. He’s building trust and faith in us, in you and in me.

Only in our faith in our good God, Jesus, can we, as Hebrews 4:16 says,

…approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

But we can’t do that unless we have faith in him, unless we trust him. Jesus is in the business of building our trust in him.  Proverbs 17:3,

The crucible for silver and the furnace for gold, but Yahweh tests the heart.

Our choices for him are objectively either A) we have faith in him daily and pursue life in hin, or B) we choose death. Literally, it’s that simple. We either choose a deep love relationship with Jesus, or we choose to pass away. 

You might have a certain pattern of doing things in youe life that you’d like to change for God. You can do it, you are not a slave to your way of thinking and doing things. Romans 12:2,

 Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–his good, pleasing and perfect will.

So let’s choose him, let’s choose to pursue him passionately, wholeheartedly. He is life. He is God. And if there are unwise choices going on in our lives, we can break those choice cycles through the Spirit.

Now it’s 1:32am and my daughter is asleep and I am going to choose to post this and hopefully grab a couple hours of sleep before I choose to go to work ๐Ÿ˜‰ if you’re up reading this, you’re either in Japan or the eastern hemisphere (like my friend Lene), or you just might be tired like me! Wherever you are, I hope you have a wonderful day, a beautiful lovely Friday with Jesus. You are oh so special and remember that Jesus chooses YOU every day, and has been choosing you since the beginning of the world. You are wonderful because you are beloved by him!

Have a great night/morning/day my friends ๐Ÿ™‚

Joel 

2 thoughts on “2 Minute Devotional, Choices – September 30th

  1. I have also thought a lot about what happened in the Garden — the choice to have knowledge over trust; in essence, choosing to bring death into the relationship between God and man rather than choosing life. I find it significant that the first couple chose the forbidden Tree of Knowledge over the Tree of Life. Significant, and sadly familiar, as I’ve made similar choices in my own life.

    Good stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that! Great thoughts and I agree, they chose both something forbidden as well as something that they saw as better than God. They must have had seeds of doubt in their minds about God from Satan and instead of trusting God’s heart, they sought out knowledge on their own. They opened Pandora’s box and cursed the world. Great thoughts on this!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

