2 Minute Devotional, Good Morning – September 25th

Psalm 63:2,

God, you are my God. I seek with longing for you. My soul thirsts for you. My flesh faints with longing for you. In a dry and and tired land where this is no water.

Good morning my friends, my sisters and brothers in our wonderful family of God. Today is one of those mornings where I woke up in his arms. In every part of me I feel two words, his love. It’s a rainy cool day at our house. My son woke up early so we bundled up in a blanket on the couch, put on a fire with a french press and a started a Paw Patrol. I snuggled up with God the whole time.

When I wake in the morning, I find that I have about a thousand little things I want to check on. From email to Facebook. But I know I must consciously set those aside for a moment and choose time with Jesus. I want to be his first fruits. And in turn, I have to give him the first fruits of my time. For me, the first fruits of my time is right after I wake (ok, full disclosure: God is gracious to let me make coffee first…we have to be realistic here!! Haha!). Jesus wants to be our God in every way, every manner. God was very up front with the Israelite about this when he first entered into a covenant with them. The second commandment says, in reference to idols, Exodus 20:5,

You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, Yahweh your God, am a jealous God,
He does not do second place in our hearts, only first. He is a jealous God. He wants you, all of you. Not part of you. But when we give all of us to him, oh the reward of his love. It’s intoxicating, a love that overwhelms the senses. He is like a warm inviting pool, the waters of his love beckoning us to wade deeper and deeper into him.

It’s so much easier to do this once we realize the world we live in is full of fakes. We really do live in a dry land, with no water to quench our hearts thirst. It’s a land of imposters. And our souls should cry the same words Peter did,  

Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. John 6:68

Because,

Your love is better than life. Psalm 63:3.

Let’s be his first fruits. His object of adoration and he ours. Nothing in your day today will satisfy you like worshiping Jesus. Nothing. I like to start my day off being in his lovely presence because my soul is thirsty and I need to drink deeply of him before I go be his love to others.

I hope all of you have a WONDERFUL day! I hope it’s it’s a great last day to the weekend and hope you have a wonderful time with Jesus today. God bless you my friends. Remember you’re his beloved!

2 thoughts on “2 Minute Devotional, Good Morning – September 25th

Leave a Reply

