Daily Devotional, I Can’t Stop, but Don’t Forget to Break – September 23rd

Psalm 34:1,

I will bless Yahweh all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth.

Song of Songs 6:10,

Who is this that appears like the dawn,

    fair as the moon, bright as the sun,

    majestic as the stars in procession?

It’s Friday. We made it πŸ™‚ This week might have been a breeze for some of you, it might have been tough for others, and for some of us the work is going through the weekend. But wherever you are, we are here today and it’s Friday. And today, we get to do something incredible. We get to worship Jesus. We get to be one with God himself, the Lover of our souls.

As we let the day start, the sun rise, the beauty of the world enter our minds and we start to wake up – and if you’re like me, it’s over a very strong cup of coffee – we come into the presence of God himself living inside us. Today, he wants you. He is excited to talk to you, to hear your voice. He wants you to just come into his presence, into his arms, and just enjoy him, just be with him, just be close to him.

I can’t stop here. Yesterday I praised him, listened to him, loved him, talked with him, was one with him. Today I’m going to do it again. Because I love it. LOVE it. Being in his arms is amazing, incredible. Who is this that appears like the dawn? It’s the Son, in all his loveliness, his eyes are wonderful…turn your eyes from me, they overwhelm me (Song of Songs 6:5). His love is intoxicating. But not only can we enjoy him, enjoy his presence and his caresses, but we can touch him back, we can speak words of love over him. Ann Voskamp describes this beautifully in her book One Thousand Gifts, which I adore,

I could bless very God. Not take anything. Not ask anything.  demand anything, petition anything. I could simply give something to God…God he has blessed, caressed. I could bless God – caress with thanks. It’s our making love.  I am in Him. He is in me. I embrace God in the moment. I give him thanks and I bless God and we meet and couldn’t I make love to God, making every moment love for Him? To know him the way Adam knew Eve. Spirit skin to spirit skin. This is what his love means. I want it: union. 

Why wouldn’t we want this, every day? This love, this union with Jesus is paradise. I’m not sure where you go to work today, or if you stay home, or if you have some other situation in your life going on, or if it’s overcast and rainy and you don’t like that kind of weather, but we can all enter into this paradise, which is simply being in his embrace. No matter where we are, his Spirit’s embrace is a paradise we can go to and worship him in. We have this God inside of us who is love and his love is fully centered on us. He goes with us everywhere we go. He is passionately in love with us. We can bless him back, we can make him smile. We can fill him with joy and with sheer ecstasy at our worship and our love for him. He is incredible. Let’s make our praise of him be ever on our lips, we can bless him and meet him in his embrace, one with him, full of joy as his Spirit permeates our being. This is something we can do anywhere, the grocery store, the kitchen, the office, the car, driving the kids to gymnastics practice, we can bless him, make every moment love for him.

I love this and could just go on and on. But I wanted to say a couple other things friends…I plan to take Saturday off as my Sabbath so I won’t be posting until at least Sunday. The other part of this post in addition to never stopping worshiping was…don’t forget to rest my friends πŸ™‚ Really. Rest. Remember the Sabbath was made for us, not us for the Sabbath (Mark 2:27). So, please rest this weekend. Or whenever you take your Sabbath. Get a wonderful day’s rest in. Let your soul soak up Jesus’ love. Lavish your love on those close to you, but don’t worry about getting things done if possible. Sleep in if you can. Have seconds on the ice cream. Wake up in God’s embrace. Psalm 23:3,

He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

I’m going to rest. We have small group tonight and I’m very excited to give my all, but then, I’m resting for a short time on Saturday. I’m a total geek, remember? πŸ˜‰ so I might watch the second episode of Stranger Things that a couple in our group recommended. I watched the first one last night…the story was really good, the music was spot on, there was a little more language and some situations I wasn’t a fan of. I’ll let the Spirit lead me on whether I need to watch more or let it pass. If not Stranger Things, there will be X-Files, and probably a movie date night with my sweetie. There will be coffee roasting. PLENTY of snuggle time with my kiddos and I’m really going to pursue my wife, make her feel extra special somehow…I’ll have to figure out how, but I have all of today to plan that one out!

I watched it upstairs in the movie room in the dark last night…it had it’s moments πŸ˜‰

20160922_220700.jpg

So after this evening, I’ll be off WP for a day or so. I hope, really I truly do in my heart hope this, that you have a day that is one where you are swept off your feet into the breathtaking, heart-skipping-a-beat love that Jesus has for you. I hope blessings pour out of your lips onto Jesus. I hope you smile because of how loved you are and I hope you rest well in his Spirit when you do take your Sabbath (Don’t forget, the Sabbath is important so make rest a priority!! You need it!) Enjoy your Friday, enjoy your Saturday. Bless you my sisters and brothers, you are SO special and wonderful because you are the treasure of Jesus’ heart, you are ever before him in his thoughts.

8 thoughts on “Daily Devotional, I Can’t Stop, but Don’t Forget to Break – September 23rd

  1. Thank you Joel! My day has been great so far, excited to be home and spend the evening with the family. I’d love for you to pray for me, thank you for asking. Please pray that I continue to grow closer to the Lord, to hear His voice, to see His love and put it in action in my life. Thanks so much😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

