2 Minute Devotional, Taking Back our First Love – September 15th

​Isaiah 51:1,

 Listen to me, you who pursue righteousness and who seek the LORD: Look to the rock from which you were cut and to the quarry from which you were hewn;

Jeremiah 2:2,

 Go and proclaim in the hearing of Jerusalem: “This is what the LORD says: “‘I remember the devotion of your youth, how as a bride you loved me and followed me through the wilderness, through a land not sown.
I was talking with God a few days ago, reminiscing on the intense passion I used to have for him all day long. I didn’t have half the responsibilities I have now, so I could devote so much more mental energy to thinking about him all day. But I miss those days, you know? It’s the crazy hormone fuelled passion of the teenage and early tween years that I had channeled into my relationship with Jesus and it was just off the charts. This was the rock that I was hewn from.

We grow older and God places us into new positions, with new dynamics to our relationship with Jesus. It’s OK if the way we worship and live out a life of worship changes as we age. But, the priority should always be there. The desire for him above everything. The emotional charged passion may be cycling in and out of our days as we get older and take on different responsibilities, even shelved for hours mentally because of work or parenting or as a spouse, but he must always be our first love. 

I like to do a diagnostic here. Have the other priorities God has given me overridden my desire for God? Quantity of worship might be replaced with short quantity/higher quality worship as we gain more responsibilities, but does my heart want him more than anything else? Today one of the guys in my office put on Taking Back Sunday, a band I hadn’t listened to since those years so long ago when I could devote my entire day to Christ. And it brought a rush of those old feelings. Gosh, I wish I could live in that raging river of emotions for Jesus every day. But sometimes we don’t get that choice, we only get it at the moments when God calls to us. Which means A) we need to always be listening for his voice and we need to swoon when he calls to us, not walk the other way, Hebrews 3:15,

 As has just been said: “Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as you did in the rebellion.”

And B) we need to be aware of our heart’s motives and be ready to make changes. If we see something in our hearts creeping up on us, stealing our attention when we do hear God’s voice, we might want to reconsider how we rank that item on our list of priorities. We should be proactive in caring for our heart’s posture toward Jesus. It’s VERY difficult to do this in my experience, but we must try.

God bless you all! You are wonderful because you are SO loved by Jesus. You are a treasure in his eyes, don’t forget it!! God bless!!

4 thoughts on “2 Minute Devotional, Taking Back our First Love – September 15th

Leave a Reply

