2 Minute Devotional, Our Time – September 14th

Psalm 90:12, 

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.

Time is such a precious commodity to us. This morning I woke up with plans to 1) go for a jog (it’s raining so I couldn’t), 2) clean out my espresso maker, 3) make coffee, 4) make oatmeal for me and my son after he woke up, 5) read some of my learning R (programming language) book, 6) spend some really good time with Jesus, 7, blog, and 8) shower and get ready to be at the office early…all in an hours time. Oh and I forgot to mention, I’m the slowest person ever in the mornings. About half that is getting done probably as I planned.

When the clock is ticking, we start feeling the rush of everything to be done, what are the essentials that have to get done? This takes wisdom. I have to eat, so does my son, so I am definitely making breakfast. I badly want coffee so I’m doing that. I know that I need time with Jesus as badly as I need food, so I’m making time to be with him. If I run out of time, my priorities are Jesus, food, coffee before work. And hopefully for my coworkers benefit, a shower too haha.

 I love this excerpt from Peter Kreeft on how to find time in his book Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Heaven, “No one has enough time for anything. How can we find it? The answer is hidden in our first corollary, that of the resurrection of time. He who loses his time shall gain it, and he who keeps his time shall lose it. If you want more time, you must go to where it is all kept: to the Eternal One, the Lord of time…to be specific: on the morning of a day crammed full of twice as many things to do as can possibly be done, you cannot afford not to begin by taking time for prayer…the reason it works is that prayer touches eternity, from which point time becomes malleable.”

I’ve had this happen countless time to me before. Where I was running out of time and somehow God gave me enough time to get everything done. I can’t afford to start my day without prayer. A couple months ago I was running late for an interview. Google maps had it at 40 minutes from the house to their office. I was just going  to make it on time. I got in the car and realized I was scarily low on gas. I had to stop for gas. On the way, I got stuck behind a car whose tire had blown out going 15 mph. I was dead in the water. But I heard God say, “Do not worry. You will make it on time, even with all this.” Guess what? I reentered the route to Google to see how long it would take after I finished pumping as I was ready to hit the highway…it was only 30 minutes at that time. And yes, I had spent time in prayer.

Time is a commodity God can give us more of at his will. We just need to be patient and faithful in spending time with him every day. No matter what else is going on in our lives. He’s our Daily Bread and we have to eat his words to us for our souls to function.

2 Peter 3:8,

But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.

God has all time available to him. We just need to give him our few loaves and fishes and let him work the miracle.

God bless my friends!! Have a wonderful Wednesday!!

5 thoughts on “2 Minute Devotional, Our Time – September 14th

  1. I’m laughing over the Espresso maker … my youngest son is smart, he started brewing coffee for me when he was twelve, wait for me to drink a cup then ask for pancakes LOL Much wisdom in that one LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

