2 Minute Devotional, Yay Monday Morning? – September 12th

Colossians 3:23, Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men.

I think we all need this right now. This and a cup of Lazarus blend coffee, strong enough to raise the dead. Amen?! I’m doing a Nicaragua Las Mercedes french press this morning. My caffeine stream has too much blood in it Monday mornings, so I’m brewing it extra strong 😉

Actually,  let me walk you through my early mornings before work. I hear the alarm, I grudgingly zombie my way to the kitchen, put on a pot of water to boil, then grind my beans and pour the water (~205 degrees) into the press, grab a cup and collapse on the ground in the library and sip coffee, speaking words of love to Jesus and waiting for the coffee to hit my brain for me to be awake enough to pour a second cup.
It’s difficult going from the weekend into the work week. We know deep in our souls, this isn’t the way things are supposed to be. Even for those of us blessed to have a job they really love, it still has that ache of, “Ugh, I really just want to stay home and play and sleep and see my family today.” Well there’s a good reason we feel like Monday morning are as appealing as listening to someone scratch their fingernails across a chalkboard.

We weren’t made for this world.

No, we were created for Eden. You. I. Everyone. Eden. The beauty of the snow capped Rockies, the breathtaking sunset on a Hawaiian beach, the snuggliness of snowy day next to a roaring fire in a breathtaking cabin in the Alps…these aren’t just fantasy trips, they are places we were designed, created by God to inhabit, daily. You. I. Today, if you are like most of us, you are not going there. Neither am I. But, remember what Scripture says, where your heart is, your treasure will be also (Matthew 6:21), I am going to my Father’s house to build a place for you (John 14:2), and we are heirs of God (Romans 8:17). You, I, we are heirs of God himself. We inherit his Kingdom with Jesus. Wow. The most beautiful, luxurious, rich, perfect, gorgeous place ever and you are destined to be a princess or prince there. Wow. Let that sink into your mind this morning. All that beauty we all wish we inhabited this morning, will one day be our forever. But, here’s the twist…until we are home, we are underage heirs. We don’t qualify yet to get the inheritance. As Galatians 4:1 says,

What I am saying is that as long as an heir is underage, he is no different from a slave, although he owns the whole estate.

So we own the whole kit and kaboodle, but we might as be slaves until we are home and come of age spiritually in Christ.

Enter Monday morning. Why do this? Why work heartily for the Lord? Because through our hard work, we come of age. We grow up. God is in the business of growing us up and Monday morning are part of it. As Romans 12:2 puts it,

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. 

Can you do it today? Yes absolutely. Even if you have twice as many things as I have time for? Yes, I believe in you, whole heartedly, because of your love for Jesus. Today is not about “doing it for the man,” or “back to reality,” our reality is Jesus. And today is about us doing the tasks he has given us with a diligent, faithful and obedeient heart because he is growing us up. He is making you wonderful, beautiful, incredible. He is preparing you for a rich world of love and beauty to partake in for all time. Today, this Monday morning is a page in this story of God’s renewal of you into the amazing image bearer of God that he made you to be so you can inherit his Kingdom.

So don’t be discouraged! Have a good cup of coffee, smile, don’t let that twinkle fall out of your eyes 🙂 you are beyond special and the work God is doing inside you today is going to be incredible. And when you don’t feel the beuaty around you, you’re stuck in rush hour traffic,  the boss is angry, you want to go home and lay in bed and eat ice cream and forget this day ever happened, remember, oh gosh I am a princess of the Kingdom. I am a prince of my Father. I have a world of beauty in the Spirit of God who lives inside me. Choose to go there and intentionally block out the other distractions. Guard your heart and let’s do this my sisters and brothers!

Love you all and  I am praying over all of you this morning 🙂 If you have a prayer request for today, comment and I would LOVE to pray with you so we can do today together as the Family of God. I’ll see you at the banquet table in our Father’s house over a glass of wine with spiraling mountains that would make Lord of the Rings jealous in the kitchen window. 

7 thoughts on “2 Minute Devotional, Yay Monday Morning? – September 12th

    1. Hey Johanna! Thank you so much!! That was so kind of you 🙂 blessings to you too!! Hope you are doing well! I took a little break myself because of busyness. Thank you again! You made me smile!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. What a wonderful message and I agree 100%! I love my job as an RN but I believe my work on earth is nurturing and raising my daughter. She’s 8 months old now and as a mother it kills me a little every time I have to leave her. My hubby would love for me to stay with her but we just can’t afford it. Thank you for the encouragement and prayers! God bless you and your family!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Meg! Thank you so much!! Wouldn’t be it so cool if Jesus just paid us to take care of our kids? Haha, I’d apply for that job today! Sounds like you’re doing an awesome job for your family as a provider and as a momma. God bless you too! Love your blog, keep up the good work!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m part-time so it’s manageable but it still feels like I’m away too much. I guess the 12 hour shifts are just too long! I’m just trying to focus on that fact that I’m helping patients heal and that’s God’s work! Congrats on your new little one! They don’t stay babies long!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Definitely sounds like you are being the hands and feet of Christ as a nurse!! Thank you so much! And no, they don’t! We’re already starting to outgrow the 3 month old clothes 😦 it goes way too fast! Enjoy your evening and thanks for sharing Meg!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

