2 Minute Devotional, When You Got Mixed Up In Something Bad Yesterday – September 10th

Lamentations 3:22-23

The steadfast love of the Lordnever ceases;
    his mercies never come to an end;
23 they are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness. 

Most of yesterday was wonderful. I started a new job. I loved it. I am super excited about it. But then after work, things became toxic. I’m running late, I have plans back home, traffic is awful, and I already was a little messy on the inside having been away from my kiddos all day for the first time in a month and a half. So I won’t go I into details, but it just was sin.  Sin. Anger. Discord. I went to bed feeling like I had fallen into a cesspool. I don’t think I’m alone here. I can’t be the only one. It sucks.

Getting back to good…

Once we accept our involvement and repent, being cleaned in Jesus’ blood, and forgive those who wronged us as well – don’t forget Luke 6:29 when it comes to dealing with  those who hurt us,  If someone slaps you on one cheek, turn to them the other also. If someone takes your coat, do not withhold your shirt from them –  so, after we forgive them and get repentance ourselves, we walk away from the sin, the situation, the words said. But…

It’s usually not that easy

It’s hard to walk the other way sometimes. Relationships are messy. When we are entangled at the soul level with others it’s not always clean cut efficiency at stepping back into grace. Sometimes there are identity issues at play, heart issues that haven’t been healed get reopened. And we find ourselves stuck in a mess we thought we had gotten over.

What do we do now?

This is a new day. Yesterday is over. The morning sun is rising. God’s mercies have been refreshed. He is lavishing  a new day’s love on you. One that, because you have been forgiven, asks that you step back into grace, forget yesterday as he already has, and start living your life for him, back on track, once more, one day at a time. Psalm 103:12,

As far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

Let’s live today as if the squirrly things we have mixed ourselves up in yesterday have been banished to Antarctica. Be free in his forgiveness and love, his grace is sufficient.

Have a great, restful and lovely day my friend! God bess your soul. And be happy today!!

2 thoughts on “2 Minute Devotional, When You Got Mixed Up In Something Bad Yesterday – September 10th

Leave a Reply

