2 Minute Devotional, Joy in Tragedy – September 8th

Romans 8:28, And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Today is my last day off work. Tomorrow I start my new job, which I am so blessed to have. But this time off was one of the best gifts God has given me recently. Something as dreaded and feared as layoffs turned into an incredible season of my life. 

This past month I have gotten more snuggles with my 1 month old daughter, I have gotten more playtime with my son and daughter, more late night movie time with my wife than I could have ever expected while working. Today I am slightly more patient, a tad wiser, a little more able to enjoy stopping and smelling the roses, and more intimate with God than I was that fateful 29th birthday of mine in July when I drove to work for the last time. I also have lessened my grip on the wheel of provision for my family and let Jesus drive more while I nap in the backseat, fully knowing he has it under control. What cost me maybe a thousand bucks out of savings plus my severance I got from my last work fir living expenses to get all of these above things, time with my family, growth and maturity in my heart, mind and soul for Christ so I can have even more joy in the next season of life…I got a bargain on that one!

This was a gift from Jesus. I loved it. LOVED it. Thank you Father.

God works for our best in every circumstance, even those dreaded by society, or our trembling hearts. He can turn a seeming tragedy or fear come to fruition into a season of joy and growth and rest. He can make you smile when the world is collapsing around you. He works to do just that for those who love him. Because as Jesus said, 

God’s got this. Making things good for you in the bad things that can happen in this world is easy for God. We have a good Father who is crazy about you. 

So, if you love Jesus (and I emphasize the if because, to put it bluntly, if you don’t love him, this doesn’t apply to you) he will work in every circumstance for your good. Does that mean it will always be cheery? No. Or that you will always prosper? Definitely not. It does mean, you will be blessed by God in ways you could never dream would happen and you will have a joy inside of your heart that will keep you smiling even on the the darkest of nights. He will do it for you.

Love you my friends, stay close to our Beloved Father and he will work for your good in everything. You’re worth it to him 🙂 have a wonderful day!

2 thoughts on “2 Minute Devotional, Joy in Tragedy – September 8th

Leave a Reply

