You’re Dead to Me

I’m stuck with how best to word this post, to say what I want to say, because it’s hard to write. But I need to, because time is running lower and soon it will be gone.

I think a lot of people miss the point of what Jesus desires with us. What is this all about? To be slaves to an all powerful God? Forever paying him homage because of his omnipotence? A lot of people might fire back, ‘No of course not were his children. We’re his bride.’ Do you live like that though? Does your heart truly, from the depths, perceive God in that capacity? Who are you really?

Jesus dealt with this in Matthew 7. I’m going to post the passage at the end, because I want you to read it for yourself and see how your heart reacts. High level, he says at the end some people, people we might perceive as being very religious, will come to him and say, “Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and cast out demons in your name and do mighty works in your name?” And Jesus looks back at them and says, “I never knew you.”

Eternal life is not built on anything, anything other than intimacy with Jesus. Do you think great works will bring you into Heaven? Or reading the Word dligently? No. John 5:39,40,

You study the Scriptures diligently because you think that in them you have eternal life. These are the very Scriptures that testify about me, yet you refuse to come to me to have life.
 I don’t think you need a PhD in Greek linguistics to decode what Jesus is saying here. He doesn’t care about lipservice. Your good works mean nothing. He wants you. He doesn’t want anything else but you. Right before Jesus made this bold statement, he was talking about wolves in sheep’s clothing, about watching out for false prophets, people who have fake works. Whose hearts never wanted Jesus in the first place. All they wanted was the praise, the feel good feelings from helping others, but when they died, their entire story was about themselves, it had little to do with Jesus! Fakes! Get away from me Jesus says!! You don’t know me, you never wanted me! I died for you and I would have been your everything, I was going to marry you, I was going to give you the keys to the Kingdom of God as your inheritance and you made me 2nd place, or 10th place in your life! I hate you! I hate you! Get away from me! I never knew you! I have forgotten who you are. I have moved on! You are dead to me!! You’re nothing to me!!!
You have all the tools in your life now to determine if this applies to you. You know. If you are a believer and you are lukewarm, you know the Spirit inside telling you to pursue him like a starving man running after his last meal. If you aren’t a believer, but are faking, people around you might not know, but you do. You have the power right now to change your choices. So change your choice. Make him first.

This is all in our hands. We choose who are our priorities. What is God to you? Is he your first? Or is he anything less than that? Exodus 34:14 says Jesus is a  jealous God, there is no second place in this relationship. It’s literally all or nothing.

You choose. You know deep down in your heart what your choice is. You choose. Because Jesus has already said how he will react if you choose him, or if you choose him as anything less than first in your life.

You choose.

Matthew 7:13-23,

Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

15 “Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. 16 By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? 17 Likewise, every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. 18 A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. 19 Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire.20 Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them.

21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven,but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

33 thoughts on “You’re Dead to Me

  1. But when? How long? All throughout one’s life? The last half? Only at the end?

    I’ve seen quite a few turn towards religion towards the end of their life. I’ve often wondered if it was too late.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. This is after death. Agreed I’ve seen many turn it around near the end of their lives too. But, sometimes there are some that God walks away from people in this world before death (Jeremiah 15:1). But the context here in Matthew 7 was at the judgement after death and/or when Jesus returns

      Like

  2. Oh My precious Lord! Yes He is my first. The one I think about day and night even during my sleep. Nothing occupies my mind like Him every minute of the day. People may think it’s a little too much, but not to me. I feel as if there is not enough hours in the day to soak in His presence. I want more, more, more!

    I’ve realized that the most important thing ever is to pursue Him until I die to myself. Until Jesus and I become one, Him in me like Paul. That’s my goal.
    When I read about Jesus and how He only did what he saw His Father do and only said what He heard His Father say. Making me ponder that this is only conquered in intimacy to learn to hear the Father’s voice; walk through life with direction and not throwing unnecessary punches.
    What you say is so true. The Lord doesn’t need our capacities and our curriculum. Actually He will choose the nobodies for this end time display of His glory. Those are the ones that lay down their lives and their “knowledge” in order to have Him completely.
    Many years ago I was comparing myself with someone else and feeling sorry. I said, God why is it that I can’t be like this? And He said to me, “I do not delight in nobody’s strength nor their ability impress me, but I delight in a pure heart.” I repented afterward.

    My goal is to be pure and become one with Him. That burns inside of me like a furnace.

    By the way concerning your Revelation post. I have been asking the Lord about it and I’m definitely getting to the conclusion that the bride will go through the period of tribulation. That’s what the Spirit has been impressing me with. Plus everything I read in the Bible is like an explosion of understanding in my face.
    Oh well. Just wanted to let you know since I told you I was going to get on the subject.

    Thanks for this post brother. I love it!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Ugh, my WordPress app on my phone didn’t reply to your comment but instead posted on the regular comment section. I can’t copy and paste it though and it was suuuuper long so look at the blog comments and you’ll see my response sister!! Baaically, loved everything you said here!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow that’s so good sister, “I do not delight in nobody’s strength nor their ability to impress me, but I delight on a pure heart.” I know exactly what you’re saying Jireh and I have work to be done on me, I really do, but I’m not stopping until every bit of me is under Jesus, burning for him day and night. And until then I’m keeping a pure heart for him! I want every second of my existence for all eternity to be devoted utterly to intimacy with and worship of Jesus. That’s the desire of my heart!

    That is really interesting that the Spirit has been giving you that thought that we’ll go through it. I feel the same way, at least part of it. Here’s the thing that I feel separates a little from some of the end times preppers…i don’t feel the Spirit saying to start prepping, to start stocking up on water and food and firewood, etc. I don’t know if that means he will provide when it happens or if he means for us to be really active witnesses in that season or what (well he always provides but I meant active vs passive positions during the tribulation). He hasn’t told me that yet, all I feel is that it isn’t necessary for me to start stock piling massive quantities of fresh water and food. He leads, I follow. It’s that simple.

    Let me know if you get anything more from him to share!

    Jesus is wonderful! Have a great night sister!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I agree with you concerning the preparation in terms of water stocking and stuff like that. Though, this is what I’m getting. To prepare our hearts and sanctify ourselves, to develop a close relationship with Lord so whenever the deceiving hour starts we are unshakable. Everything that can be shaken will be shaken. A remnant will remain. We have time to let Holy Spirit circumcise our hearts. We will be unshakable. We will have the power to not compromise the truth. This is what I am getting. This is the time to get our hearts ready.
      The time is closer than we think. In the meantime, when things gets tough the Lord will tell us what to do. So much evil is at hand however, so much Kingdom Power and manifestation of the sons of God are also.

      I am sooo excited! Never been so excited of the fact of understanding certain things of God’s agenda. Let’s keep digging. We have nothing to be afraid of.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The time is at very near at hand, but we have so much work to do. I can’t agree more. I’m so excited too! I am so excited for when sin will be conquered within myself. That seems like a long ways away, but I want it. I want all of me for Jesus. Truly we have nothing to fear and everything to gain!

        A lot comes down to the shifting mentality you were talking about Jireh. We need to shift our perspective to prepare ourselves for him, to do amazing things for him. And to do that, we need to be ready to go into new areas we haven’t been before. But it’s exciting!! 🙂 we have such a great God!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! My dad and I had a conversation about how do you keep from worshiping the Bible instead of the God of the Bible and my second thought was of a book that was Ah-mazing called “counterfeit gods” by Tim Keller.
    It seems anything can get in the place ahead of Jesus if we allow it. Daily renewing of the mind, and daily being filled up with Him.
    If we stay filled up with Him we have less chance of letting other things seep in and take over.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! So I was talking with a really close friend the other say about pronouncing God’s name, Yahweh. And there’s controversy over how to pronounce it in the original Hebrew. Actually, some people take it even further and will go into huge arguments and post YouTube videos about how his name is to be pronounced and that they have secret knowledge on how it’s to be pronounced and everyone else is wrong. And my friend made the comment, at that point these people have done the unthinkable. They have turned the name of God into an idol and stumbling block in their hearts over how to pronounce it! Haha, so I think his point was the same as yours, literally anything can become an idol in our hearts.

      I need to check out that book by Tim Keller. I might get a copy. It sounds really good! And yes, amen, that’s exactly how we can keep him first first in first in our lives!

      Hope you are doing well! Blessings!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Look at Luke 13:23-30 which somewhat parallels this passage. I believe the idea there illuminates this one a bit more. The dialogue is between God (the householder) and those having been locked out (it doesn’t say why). Essentially the idea is that those locked out ate with him (God/householder/Jesus) and he taught in their streets (again Jesus?), but He says He never knew where they were from. Keep this in mind as a balance with the Mathew passage because the idea here is that there was some of that intimacy you mention (they ate together), but not the acceptance of who Jesus is.

    The way I took the Luke passage is that we can have “spiritual disciplines” in place (i.e. read the Bible, pray, give, etc.) but still never really know Jesus. Jesus words it very strangely, “I do not know where you are from” as if it’s their origin that He doesn’t recognize. I suspect that this is because His audience is made up of Jews who may have assumed that as a race they were accepted, “shoe-in’s” for the Kingdom. I’m not totally convinced of that though. What do you think of Luke in relation to the Matthew passage?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Agreed I think in tandem with we get to the same answer in the God-person relationship highlighted here. The Jewish reader probably got it when worded like that. And I think relationship-wise Jesus is saying, ‘you have disciplines in place but you don’t even know me. I don’t know you.’

      Here’s a question though on audience…Luke wrote his Gospel as a paid (probably paid) work for Theophilus, probably a Roman. The style is very close to other Roman biographies (esp ch 1; eg Josepheus). If he’s writing this for a Roman audience, wouldn’t it make more sense for the Matthew version of Jesus’ ‘I never knew you’ make more sense in Luke and Luke’s ‘I do not know where you are from.’ I guess that hinges on Matthew’s intended original audience which I take as Jewish, but I may be wrong there.

      Regardless you make a good point here Matt!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That assumes the Greek (as opposed to Latin) Theophilus isn’t a Jew. Consider your statement about the similarity to Josephus. Josephus isn’t Aramaic, yet the person was. And the possibility that Luke is writing to an audience who may very well be dealing with the Jewish cultural pressure to conform to Judaism in order to be acceptable to God (Paul’s problems with this issue in Asia Minor were myriad). When taken in context (literary as well as historical) that Jesus could be seen as arguing against a view that to be Jewish guarantees acceptability to God gains strength.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s a good point. That’s a really good point, I didn’t think about that. Esepecially where you said, ‘And the possibility that Luke is writing to an audience who may very well be dealing with the Jewish cultural pressure to conform to Judaism in order to order to be acceptable to God.”

        So I’m intrigued now Matt, do you think this implicates the church in Rome struggled with this very issue? Paul does a long walk in Romans of the Jewish place in the Church. He obviously had things that needed to be clarified to the Roman gentile converts which necessitated those parts of his letter.

        Like

      3. We might be getting off on a small tangent here on audience context with Paul, back to your original point on spiritual disciplines, yes absolutely. One might argue how was someon would be able to do the miracles if they didn’t have the Holy Spirit to begin with (or whatever spiritual practice is in place) and my response would be Satan would most likely have no problem ‘faking it’ to deceive someone.

        Also, I think the larger passage context in Matthew 7 is important as well. Just before this Jesus is talking about false prophets and one of the main practices Jesus highlights as one practicing without knowing him is prophesying in his name. Which fits into the verses before that…the road is narrow, not many will get in. I think Jesus was starting with that and then walking through the details, the ‘whys?’ of why many won’t make it and how that many people who outwardly (and inwardly believe they will make it) look like they are solid in Christ, are actually cast out because the relationship is nonexistent.

        Like

      4. We might be getting off on a tangent here on audience, back to your original point on spiritual disciplines, yes absolutely. One might argue how was I able to do the miracles if I didn’t have the Holy Spirit to begin with (or whatever spiritual practice is in place) and my response would be Satan would most likely have no problem ‘faking it’ to deceive someone.

        Also, I think the larger passage context in Matthew 7 is important as well. Just before this Jesus is talking about false prophets and one of the main practices Jesus highlights as one practicing without knowing him is prophesying in his name. Which fits into the verses before that…the road is narrow, not many will get in. I think Jesus was starting with that and then walking through the details, the ‘whys?’ Of why many won’t make it and how that looks, even for people who outwardly (and inwardly believe they will make it) look like they are solid in Christ, but are cast out.

        Good discussion and good points you brought up here! I always learn something new when we discuss the depths of the Word on here Matt!

        Like

      5. So off topic, what intro book did you use for Koine? My tutor and I are working through Rodney Decker’s Reading Koine Greek, with some caveats from my tutor because Decker has a couple eccentric views in his book. But it’s a fantastic book! I can’t put it down.

        Also, I’ve been roasting hard lately! I’ve been getting my beans from Sweet Marias, I’ve done several batches of Yemen Mokha Bani Haraz and Yemen Mokha Ismaili and one of their Burundi offerings. Fabulous stuff!

        Like

      6. I took Greek in Seminary, and the textbook was Beginners Grammar of the Greek New Testament by William Hersey Davis. It’s old, but a good beginner guide. Lot’s of memorization. I still have my flash cards I made around here somewhere, even after 18 years.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post! That Scripture about Him never knowing us used to scare me. I would think, then what does it mean to know God?! I know people who read the Bible constantly and they dont seem Godly, so that isnt it. Relationship … how do you treat a spouse or a friend? You talk, communicate. I think Judas was a living example of who He asks to depart from Him.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! Judas might be a really good example of what you are saying. I know pastors who outwardly had the skin of a Christian, but internally and behind the scenes it was a very different story. You know who I think is typically one of the best people to ask whether a certain christian is who they say they are? Their spouse. How’s life at home with him/her? Do they walk the walk? Do they have a deeply personal relationship with Christ that is obvious in the home and in their personal and private time? The spouse can probably testify to that one better than anyone. Or parents if the person isn’t married.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think that would be sometimes accurate LOL My spouse would tell you I’m a terrible wife; not kidding. I think that’s why its best to leave it up to Jesus LOL He reads hearts. And then what if somebody used to be a stone cold killer, turned to Christ, but isn’t exactly what you would call a nice person; but they do their best. I know some reformed gang members that are doing good to not turn to alcohol or drugs every day. I think I could really screw things up if I had to decide which is which. … things could get scary up in this world LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha I see your point. I guess I was just thinking about the typical pastor who is one person on stage at church and a totally different person after service ends. But that’s a good point and I agree, it’s a very fluid situation that can be difficult to diagnose.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh I totally get what you are saying … I actually talked to a “Pastor” of a rather large assembly and he straight up said that he didn’t believe the Bible was the inspired Word of God and most of it was relative. I try to warn new Christians that is wrong, wrong, wrong., get a new church LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  7. This is a very good post. It is with excessive infrequency that I (and perhaps we) encounter these harder points of God’s Word, especially among those that already consider themselves Christians. We must test for the presence of the Holy Spirit within ourselves and others daily! Praise to the Father who has given us such peace through Jesus Christ.

    2 Corinthians 13:5 (AMPC)

    5 Examine and test and evaluate your own selves to see whether you are holding to your faith and showing the proper fruits of it. Test and prove yourselves. Do you not yourselves realize and know [thoroughly by an ever-increasing experience] that Jesus Christ is in you—unless you are [counterfeits] disapproved on trial and rejected?

    1 John 1:5-7 (AMPC)

    5 And this is the message which we have heard from Him and now are reporting to you: God is Light, and there is no darkness in Him at all.
    6 [So] if we say we are partakers together and enjoy fellowship with Him when we live and move and are walking about in darkness, we are [both] speaking falsely and do not live and practice the Truth [which the Gospel presents].
    7 But if we [really] are living and walking in the Light, as He [Himself] is in the Light, we have [true, unbroken] fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses (removes) us from all sin and guilt [keeps us cleansed from sin in all its forms and manifestations].

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much my good friend and brother 🙂 and yes I love the passage you posted from 2 Co, which I think is the logical response we take from Jesus’ words in Matthew 7 and Luke 13. Great stuff as always friend. Hope you are doing well this Monday!

      Like

  8. This is painful because I’ve always wanted to want Him this way. I’ve had moments in my life where my heart has just overflowed with passion and love, yet I seem to be plagued by this never-ceasing pendulum, always caught between passion and apathy. It’s like I burn myself out with this inner zeal before I can even make it to the stage where I’m sharing it outwardly with the rest of the world. Maybe it’s because I struggle with the fact that I can’t cling to His physical form—that I can’t hear His audible voice reassuring me of His love. We are such sensory creatures, and sometimes I long so much to be able to engage with Him in the same way I can engage with any other of my dearly beloved in this world. I long for it so much that every once in a while, when I meet someone in whom perceive the image of Christ, I have to fight with everything I have to prevent myself from clinging to this human being instead. It’s so hard, and it makes me feel so lonely and ashamed. And then, I’m further from Him than ever. In my desire to be one with Him, I end up creating an idol. I don’t know how to make it stop.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I can really sympathize Angela. I have gone through cycles for years with God, where I will have periods of intense closeness to him and then months of drought. It hasn’t affected our relationship’s base , because I learned a long time ago our relationships with Christ should not be built on our feelings but instead on the cross and rhe Word, but I still will struggle during the drought days.

      I hear ya on the physicality of him not being here. I want it. I want to hold him, but I can’t. And that’s tough for all the reasons you listed. And even now, even today I was struggling with whether I was hearing his voice or if I’m just hearing what I want to hear. He speaks in ways I don’t listen for and I know his presence, but I want it my own way. A relationship with Jesus is messy, mine definitely is. But my heart is all in, regardless of how clean or messy things get in rhe future. It’s like what Peter said to Jesus, “Where would we go Lord?” I have no one else but him, and even if I did, I would want anyone else but him. I’m still learning all his ways, and I’m still very much a child.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The idea that our relationships should not be built on our feelings—that’s probably the one idea I struggle with more than any other. I’ve heard it before, and on some level, I know it’s true. It’s just a really hard thing to accept. When I look back on the first time I truly understood the story about Jesus, I’m aware that it was my emotional reaction to it that ultimately drew me toward the baptismal font. It was the most beautiful story of love I’d ever heard in my entire life, and through it, He won my heart. But we’re broken and fickle, and our hearts become so easily calloused to the very things most worthy of our passion. I hate that. It’s one of our deepest flaws.

        My husband and I talk often about the reason why our grandparents were able to stay together “until death did them part” while at least half of us today will wind up breaking that vow. We’ve come to the conclusion that it wasn’t because they were happier than we are, and it wasn’t because they used better judgment in selecting their mates. It was simply because they lived in a time when people honored their promises. They didn’t need to be enveloped in a state of marital bliss in order to stay true to their word because the vows they’d made were more important to them than their feelings were. Now, we live in this generation where we’re encouraged to seek out our own happiness above everything else. It doesn’t matter anymore how many promises we have to break—or how many people we have to hurt. We are entitled to find our own happiness, even at the expense of someone else’s, and the scary thing is that our society calls this “brave.”

        I wish I could replace my own heart with His—so I could feel what He feels always. But in the meantime, maybe it’s more comforting than not that my relationship with Him isn’t built on feelings. Because until I have His heart, I can’t always trust mine.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s a good point, I think you two are on the right track there with our grandparents generation vs ours today. If I’m told to seek happiness by the world, but the path of becoming one with Christ in God’s plan for my life has seasons where I won’t be happy with him, how will my heart react? It’s a testing, do I want him or what I’ve been conditioned to want by the world? And thats totally Biblical, right? Look at Jeremiah 20, he even says it that God deceieved him into pain and suffering. It’s ironic almost because that iconic verse of ‘I know the plans i have for you, plans to prosper you…’ is just a couple chapters later in chapter 29:11. So the Biblical model is to be emotionally all over the map. David is another great example of this in his psalms.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

