Sophie is Here! Our Birth Story

Our Sophie has finally arrived!!!!

Wow, there’s so much to recount of the past 36 hours. But I’m excited to share it and the miracles God has done in our lives.

It started Monday afternoon. I got a text from my wife that she had been having contractions…they has become a daily occurrence so we both kinda wrote them off. After work I played with my kiddos while my wife made dinner. It was about 6:45pm when her expression told me, this might be it.

Our midwife came by at 8:15pm and checked her. She was already at a 4 and 80% effaced. She told my wife, “I think I’ll stay.” It was at this point, while I was putting our kids to bed, that my wife told me the sheets and mattress protector we had received from a friend were for a twin bed, not our king bed. The kids were over the moon with excitement at this point so I loaded them into the car and we made a Target run, rocking out to Toby Mac and What Does the Fox Say, all of us running on adrenaline. I am still flabbergasted by how much a mattress protector and 1 bed sheet costs these days. But we made a successful run and got back home.

My wife was laying in bed, Dan in Real Life, our favorite movie was playing on TV, and a chill worship Playlist going on Spotify. This was actually happening! Our kids went to bed and actually slept wonderfully. I prayed over them and tucked them in with our dogs.

Active labor began about 10pm, Monday night. She took a short, hot shower while I stood nearby speaking word sof love, encouragement and Scripture over her. She laid back down and soon was shivering. Transition came way very soon while Shane and Shane live played in the background. There was one moment where she said I can’t do this, but we worked through it with our Father. My wife was just letting our Father carry her. She then wanted to get in the bathtub.

Our midwives came in and drew a bath. My wife got in with me awkwardly perched on the tub side, me trying not to sit on the jacuzzi jet button (lol can you imagine me setting off the jets at that time?), and our midwife next to me. We passed transition and were in the home stretch. My wife had several very intense contractions. Our midwife said at the beginning of one, just ride it like a wave. And Oceans came on, the words of waves coming through the worship music. It was a very confirming moment that our Father was present. It was amazing. It was such a holy moment. We were worshiping Jesus in a very intimate place, a time when we needed him to show up and he was carrying his daughter through labor. I was praying , ‘She is your daughter, please carry your daughter through this. We love you and we worship you God’ I was praying ‘I am not worthy.’ I wasn’t. Neither for God’s presence in our bathroom nor for my wife’s trust and reliance upon Jesus in that moment of pain, I was not worthy to be there. But I was. I was speaking 2 Corinthians 12:9 over mywife, “My grace is enough. It is all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become!” Another hard contraction hit and I was praying for Jesus to lead her through as we stood in this hurricane. And Crowder’s How He Loves Us came on, ‘loves like a hurricane.’ God was there. I get tears in my eyes remembering it.

And then, before our midwife had time to get her gloves on, my wife said, ‘She’s coming!’ Our midwife guided her head out, and I helped receive her in the water (we hadn’t intended a water birth but God had other plans!). Sophie came out and I cried and cried, oh thank you Jesus. My wife snuggled her and let her nurse. And I held them close.

We did it. It was just 2 1/2 hours of active labor. It was an absolutely incredible experience with God. My wife is beyond amazing. She’s amazing. I am SO PROUD of her. We have been given a beauty baby girl. 7 lbs, 6 oz. Brother and sister are crazy about her. After birth, my wife had had a small tear. Our midwife team sewed her up and I showed Sophie our home, I cried over her walking down the dark hallways, just praying, “Thank you Jesus. Thank you Jesus.” It was all I could say. Mommy and Sophie are healthy. Today is wonderful. Friends are over and the sounds of my son and his best friend come from the backyard on the trampoline (much needed play time). I am so thankful.

Thank you Jesus.

Sophie sleeping the morning away on my chest

 

Mommy and Big Sissie snuggling Sophie

2016-07-13-10.40.44.jpg.jpeg

 

Our Sweet Family

20160712_044034.jpg

 

Thank you Jesus.

23 thoughts on “Sophie is Here! Our Birth Story

  1. YAAY!!! Congrats to you and your wife!! This is such a beautiful story. It made me cry! May the Lord bless you and your family. May He bless Sophie with the richness of His love and may she grow in love with the Lord each day of her life and develop a beautiful and deep relationship with Him in the years to come. Enjoy the blessings of so many beautiful moments that you will share with Sophie.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations!! We here are so glad for you, your wife and your family. Thank you, Lord Jesus, for little Sophie, for giving her the loving home she was born into and for Your family to raise her for Your Kingdom.!!!

    Joel……a cuppa now??

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you brother!! That was too kind. We’re so blessed with her. Jesus is good to us to entrust us with her.

      Oh yes, I’ve already gone through about 3/4th of the bag of mahembe by now. It’s amazing by the way. It literally does taste like candy! I made a french press for the midwives and me when labor first began. Glad that I did because I didn’t go to sleep until 6am the next morning!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel as if I had that Mahembe as it is 3:26AM and I have been writing since 1AM after I went to be by 11PM last night. When God inspires me to bring a message…..her goes, this time I had a tough one to bring to my own Afrikaner tribe. I wish I had coffee in this house; bought a lot of very bad Tetley’s tea on a special six weeks ago and still cannot forgive myself for having done that. It is inconsistent and beyond horrid. Avoid. You are better off with that Mahembe. My brother lives some distance away; he tells me on Whatsapp that he had Indian but that is incosnistent as well; better when blended with a dark roast Columbian. I presume Sophie will have to wait a little before she can taste a good brew?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Whoa sounds like you need another cup of coffee!! That mahembe is good stuff!

        What’s up with the Afrikaners?

        Never had Tetley’s before. I drink a decaf Rishi turmeric ginger tea and Tazo earl grey tea. I loooove earl grey.

        Have you ever had a red tea espresso in South Africa?

        I think I’ve only had Indian once and it was ok. I’m either Africa, Yemen, Indonesia or Latin America. Hawaii is good too. Lol yeah Sophie will have to wait a little bit, but I’ll make sure she gets a taste at the right time!! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations – she is just gorgeous! Thanks for sharing the photos and I’m so happy the Lord answered the prayers of a quick and smooth delivery of baby Sophie!
    Just letting you know that I dusted off my french press because after reading this with tears in my eyes, I desperately needed to do that πŸ˜‰
    Here’s to you and your lovely family ❀ "Cuppa cheers" πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you so much Lene! God was really good to her and only gave her a short labor. Your prayers were definitely answered, but it was still a very intense labor (I guess that’s pretty much every labor though?) But God was so good to her.

      My wife is a baby baking machine haha! When it’s time, those babies are coming out fast! Our son was born after 3 hours of labor! We did a hospital birth with him and he was almost born in the hallway because he came so fast!!

      Yes!! Haha! Good job on the French press dusting!! I’ll raise a cup of my Rwanda Mahembe to you and your family! Sophie had her nights and days mixed up last night, if thats still so tonight, I might be raising that cup in about 45 minutes! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh congratulations!πŸ™ŒπŸ½πŸ™ŒπŸ½ What a beautiful baby girl! I couldn’t help to get teary eyed while reading how everything came about and how the Lord was involved in every little detail. What a wonderful blessing brother. The Lord bless you and the whole family. πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ˜„

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Jireh!! That’s too kind of you sister! She is such a lovely blessing, we’ve gotten plenty of snuggle time with her. God is so good! I’m just head over heels in love with this little baby!! 😍 😍 😍 Jesus bless you too and your whole family!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Matt! It was an amazing experience of God’s love and power. I still cry thinking about it, very powerful time with God. Blessings to you too!!

      Like

  5. What a beautiful perspective of the most intimate experience. You honor God in your writing and I’m so happy for you and your sweet family. Oceans…. that caught me off guard. Seriously, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words Judi! You made me smile with your comment!

      I really enjoyed reading some of your posts, good stuff! I’m sure it makes God smile as well! I’ve never been to Nicaragua, but I’ve been to Honduras on mission (I loved it so much!). Hopefully one day I can take my babies down there as well.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! I only came to Christ March 28, 2016 and the changes in my life since still take my breath away! And as for Nicaragua, it was life-changing for sure! I can’t wait to go back and I bet you’re kids would fall in love with missions!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well Judi, just to send you some encouragement, you’ve embarked on the absolute greatest journey ever. I’m 15 years in myself and I’m just getting started, but I’ve never been more alive than when I’m with Jesus. So glad to hear that!

        Oh I hope they will. Seriously, my wife and I might just pick up our kids and move to Africa one day to love on some orphaned! Missions rock!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I completely agree on the feeling alive part! I told my mom not to be surprised if I suddenly sell my house and head back to Central America! Lol, been wondering for ten years why the Spanish I haven’t used in all that time just wouldn’t get outta my head. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

