My Coffee Birth Plan

As you may or may not know, we are having a baby. A home birth. Which I’m sure has raised some questions in your mind by now. I’d like to address some of these and walk everyone through my answers to the home birth process with coffee”

  1. “Joel, how are you going to ensure access to high quality coffee during the home birth process?”Initially I was planning on setting up a mini coffee bar in the the master bathroom, with my hot water boiler, a french press and the bean grinder. I had planned on bringing the french press into the game first instead of the Aeropress due to the higher volume of coffee I can make with my french press (8 cups vs ~1 cup). Also the midwives would have had access to a couple cups as well as we worked through the birthing process.20160705_210710.jpgUnfortunately to my chagrin, my lovely wife found this initial plan to be pretty offensive.

    So I went back to the drawing board and decided to shave down my plan. Once active labor begins, I will make a quick hot water run out in the kitchen, grind the beans and put it in the french press and bring the press back. I won’t have the capability to continue to brew as I’ll be staying with my lovely woman to do the whole supportive husband thing, but I would have 8 cups of coffee to carry me through.

    This idea was recently dismissed by my girl as well…unfortunately, the getting up to pour coffee thing wouldn’t be relaxing given the situation.

    I have since resorted to Plan C…which is, once active labor begins, brew a full french press, leave it on the kitchen counter. Grab the largest mug out of the cabinet, fill to the brim, and hope it keeps. My wifey has had very quick labor in the past (3-4 hours tops) so a good deep mug should be good enough.

  2. “What beans will you be brewing given that it is such a special occasion?” I have chosen Rwanada Mahembe from Starbucks Reserve. This baby is a Cup of Excellence winner, with tasting notes of “like candy,” orange, peach, honey and chocolate. It was priced at $40/8.8 oz. I just checked the Reserve site and it’s not even listed on there any more (it’s the bag in the top photo). Which means, this is a pretty rare cup. I wanted something special to brew to celebrate our Sophie’s arrival! Eeek, so excited. I also plan to Aeropress it after Soph gets here, since such a special bean deserves a special press.
  3. “Does your wife drink coffee?” Nope! Which means I don’t have to share! Yay!

So what do you think about my coffee birth plan?

Disclaimer: So if you don’t know me…this is really a joke post. Will there be coffee? Absolutely. Is it more important than being with my darling wife during birth? Probably not 😉 But yes, there will be coffee.

there will be coffee

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “My Coffee Birth Plan

  1. You deeply disappointed me, Joel. I thought you were serious and I was about to ask you to Youtube it. But it is a joke post……you see? You said it yourself😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was considering your coffee choice and I have a few concerns. First, I highly recommend a blonde roast as they have more caffeine and better “bean” flavor. On the downside the peak flavor degrades a week after roasting (hard to transport/ship). Second, while ceramic mugs are nice, a vacuum bottle will better retain the heat and quality of your brew.

    But with a dark roast, the roasted beans have to wait a few days to a week to reach peak, so you have time to enjoy your beans. And if you want a mug to hold 8 5oz cups, I think vacuum bottles are called thermoses at that point. Good plan though!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Nice! This is why I like following you on WP Matt, you are like a trainer pushing his followers to always reach for that next level. You are the Christian Richard Simmons of Coffee I have been searching for haha!

      So question on the supply chain matter…if you roast in house, how long of an interval from picking the beans to roasting can you have before flavor really starts to degrade?

      I like the vacuum bottle idea, a lot. Usually when I aeropress, I’m just doing a single cup so I’m drinking it fast and I love to inhale the aromatics off the coffee during my experience.

      Wait, so I have to wait a few days from roasting to hit peak flavor?

      Like

      1. Green coffee beans keep in cool dark conditions for months. It’s right after roasting that the clock starts ticking. Dark roasted has a time to let CO2 out, and flavor peaks as the gas dissipates. Once peak flavor is reached, you have about a week. Bulk roasters prefer to roast dark so they have time to ship before the flavor degrades. There are other issues to consider when picking roasts/beans, but I roasted beans are the best way to store coffee long term.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I didn’t know that, either about the green beans staying good for that long or the CO2 with dark roast. I have noticed that about the week long issue. Once a week hits, I usually just grind what’s left and toss it in the garden.

        So what I really want is green beans and then start roasting at home again.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha! I’ve been using a cast iron skillet on the fireplace. It requires a lot of attention to keep from getting too warm, but I’ve noticed there is a really good flavor that comes off the smoke as it cascades over the beans.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Air poppers are faster, and very popular. I use a drum roaster that was given to me. But an air popper was going to be my fall back if necessary. I have a friend whose air popper broke, and is now using a whirly pop on the stove top. Not the smokey flavor you’re referring to though. A cast iron skillet just sounds like it would be too much trouble to roast consistently. Really, anything that gets you past the first crack, let’s you control the approach to the second, and easily transitions into cooling is a good method.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh it’s trouble, requiring tedious attention and constant stirring. Which is why I gave it up after botching a couple batches.

        I might try out the drum roaster at some point. If I ever get back into it. I do have a birthday coming up, so maybe I’ll nudge my wife and say, “Ahem..” and point to a drum roaster on the screen.

        Any brand you recommend?

        Like

      6. Not really, I know very little about brands of roasters. A half-pound roaster will get you through a week between roasts. Even so, you typically have to pay attention to the process even with a drum roaster. With the roaster I have, I wander off for the first 16 minutes, then come and listen for some pops signalling the second crack is coming. I try to stop it right before the second crack, but the cool-down process carries it into the second crack a bit if I time it right. Too far into the second crack and you lose the distinction of the bean; it becomes all about the roast, and I’m not much of a fan of dark.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. So if I go with the air popper instead, am I sacrificing flavor or quality at all? Or is it merely preference between the air popper vs drum roaster?

        Haha, yeah I remember that. Once I get to the second crack, it’s time to start wrapping things up, fast.

        Like

      8. I’m not sure about quality in one method over another. I know that roasting yourself is typically better. So if an air popper is more convenient then you will be more likely to roast your coffee, probably more often. The quality will more likely come with experience. So, practice and patience will help you most.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Sounds good. Well Matt, I think you might have just inspired me to get back into it. I’ll probably be posting at home roasting later this month. I’ll probably just start back with an air popper and then once the weather cools off this fall I’ll roast in the fireplace again.

        Like

Leave a Reply

