Stop Everything, and Just Do It

I love James. It’s a really good book. Lots of good wisdom in there. If you haven’t read it lately and are looking to grow in your walk with God, read some James over a cup of coffee today or snuggled up in bed before sleep tonight. You won’t regret it 🙂

I love these three verses in chapter 4, verses 13-15:

 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.”

You guys know what this is. It’s the, I was planning on doing X tomorrow, but instead God had me do Y. As parents, we experience this daily. I think I’m about to go to the kitchen and get a snack and chill for a few minutes perusing the interwebs on the kitchen counter. Get a little me time. But, my sweet little girl calls to me loudly as I’m walking that way, “Hey daddy! Do you wanna help me draw a picture?!” The snack is staying on the shelf. As spouses we get this too, right? It’s evening time, the kiddos are in bed, and I’m ready to sit down and read a book for a few minutes. But my sweet wifey wants to talk, she wants to hear my voice. So the book is going on the shelf.

Not sure if any of you have ever seen the movie Dan in Real Life, but at the end Steve Carell’s character says, about life, “Be prepared to be surprised.”

dan-in-real-life-1

God loves to take this route with us! He is a God of romance, of intrigue, of mystery. He’s not always safe, but he’s always good (to paraphrase CS Lewis). I am such a selfish human being at times, but there are so many moments in my daily life where I need to just stay. I don’t need to go do whatever I was planning on doing. I need to let my plans get pushed, because there is something going on right now that needs my presence.

We were created to give and love, to share, to enjoy one another’s presence. It’s one of the ways we image God. Sometimes what I want to do isn’t what God wants me to do. And the quicker I learned that, the better of a father I became, the better of a husband I became. The better of a lover of God I became. Jesus loves it when we share ourselves with others, especially those dear to our hearts.

In what areas or moments do you hear Jesus’ whisper to you when you encounter a situation or person that he says, “Please stay?” Would love to hear your thoughts!

God bless and hope you have a fantastic afternoon!!

Leave a Reply

